Train to Win, Eat to Lose

A Health and Fitness Blog

Eat Like a Caveman

When advising clients and friends on proper eating and following a low carbohydrate diet,  I am often asked what I eat on a day to day basis.  With that in mind, I thought I would share with you what I eat on a typical day.

“Pre”- Breakfast

When I first get out of bed in the morning, I don’t like to eat a “real” breakfast.  My stomach isn’t quite ready for it and since I have been sleeping (and consequently not eating for many hours) I like to get something easily digestible right into my body.  So, I start off with a whey protein shake (I use Vital Whey) and I throw in either a raw egg or a tablespoon of coconut butter to add some essential fats.

Breakfast

Eggs.  Due to the nature of my schedule those eggs are typically hard boiled.  It normally takes 5 eggs to satisfy me.

Lunch

Two cans of boneless and skinless sardines in olive oil, along with a salad of various greens and avocado.

Dinner

Roughly 10 ounces of grass fed red meat (in the form of hamburgers) with a side of green veggies in butter (such as broccoli or string beans), or avocado, or spinach sautéed with garlic and olive oil.

Snack

I usually do not have snack between breakfast and lunch.  Between having a protein shake when I wake up and then having breakfast, I find myself pretty satisfied.  I usually have a snack between lunch and dinner.  I may have a snack after dinner depending on whether or not I have dinner at a reasonable time.

Snacks may include real food such as: sardines, eggs, almond butter or almonds, coconut butter, etc.  If I have a dairy craving I may eat whole fat Greek yogurt or whole fat cottage cheese.  On the occasions where I desire fruit as a snack, it will generally be dark berries such as blueberries or strawberries.

Again, this is what I eat on typical day.  Many of these items are interchangeable.  I may have eggs for dinner or lunch. I may have red meat, poultry, or fish for breakfast.  However, the dietary guidelines never change.

Some key factors you may have noticed:

  • I consume a very low carbohydrate diet (a typical day for me would be between 10-20 grams of carbohydrate).
  • I avoid all grains and starches.
  • I consume a diet high in fat and adequate in protein.  On average, this constitutes a 60/40 or 70/30 split.
  • I eat a minimal amount of fruit (generally only when I have a “craving”).
  • I eat a minimal amount of dairy (again, generally only when I have a “craving”.  Although I am a sucker for cheese!).

Bottom line?  I try to eat like a caveman!

September 14, 2010 Posted by | Nutrition, Personal Observations/Reflections | , , , , , | 1 Comment