Train to Win, Eat to Lose

A Health and Fitness Blog

A Grainy Situation Becomes Clearer

Now that Spring is here (actually it has felt more like summer lately!) I have been reflecting on how I held up over the Fall/Winter of 2009/2010.  Being that I am always on the go and average only 5-6 hours of sleep a night, my Fall and Winter usually consists of several colds and at least one that lingers for a couple of weeks.   Outside of the fact that I run around like crazy and do not get much sleep, I take exceptional care of myself.  I strength train 2-3 times a week, I eat a low carbohydrate/high protein & fat diet, and I supplement myself with whole food vitamins.

As I just mentioned, I eat a low carbohydrate diet. (less than 60 grams of carbohydrates per day).  Up until the Fall of 2009 I was still eating some grains, albeit not a great deal of them. As I have mentioned in previous posts, grains contain antinutrients.  Simply put, they interfere with our body’s ability to absorb nutrients and they are linked to a myriad of other health problems (this is a must read: Cereal Grains: Humanity’s Double-Edged Sword, by Loren Cordain).  However, I still ate them because 1) I ate a minimal amount and 2) I liked eating them.

However, with how consistently I had been getting sick every Fall and Winter year in and year out, I started thinking about this more.  What if even the small amount of grains I had been eating was enough to interfere with my body’s ability to absorb nutrients and was therefore the main culprit in my getting so sick? What if this was what was truly compromising my immune system, much more than my lack of sleep (I am NOT disregarding the importance of sleep)?

With all this in mind I made a change in the Fall of 2009.  I removed ALL grains from my diet.

As I sit here reflecting on this past Fall and Winter, this is what stands out:  I did not get sick even one time.  Nada.  Zip.  Zero.  Zilch.  Not even a sniffle.  OK, you get my point.

Some people might say this is nothing more than a coincidence, and I suppose that could be true.  But knowing that grains do in fact interfere with our body’s ability to absorb nutrients, and that since I have cut them completely out of my diet I have not gotten sick AND I feel great, it’s hard for me to say that there is not a relationship.

Now, if I can only find a way to get more sleep…

April 13, 2010 Posted by | Nutrition, Personal Observations/Reflections | , , , , , | 1 Comment