Train to Win, Eat to Lose

A Health and Fitness Blog

Cholesterol Is Your Friend

Recently, I have been giving dietary advice to a friend who came to me with questions on how he could lose body fat.  During this time quite a few questions were asked, including: “What can I eat to help safely promote the manufacturing of testosterone?”  I absolutely love this question because the answer brings us back to the topic of America’s most demonized nutrient: Cholesterol!

Cholesterol is a precursor to testosterone (as well as all steroid hormones).  So the answer to my friend’s question is to eat food that has a higher cholesterol content.  This is further reason to NOT AVOID eating food that is high in cholesterol and fat. Yes, that means eat those eggs (yes, the yolk too)!

My friend’s question also got me to dig a little deeper and what I found (thanks to my friend Eugene Thong and his phenomenal blog Eugenization) was this study Surprise – Cholesterol May Actually Pose Benefits, Study Shows (this study came out two years ago so I am admittedly way behind in being aware of it): “At the conclusion of the study, the researchers found that there was a significant association of dietary cholesterol and change in strength. In general, those with higher cholesterol intake also had the highest muscle strength gain.”  This makes perfect sense since testosterone is key to the repair of muscle tissue.

Let me reassure you that eating cholesterol DOES NOT increase blood cholesterol.  In fact, cholesterol is an essential nutrient.  If you want to learn more about cholesterol and all it’s benefits (and in process debunk all the myths you have come to hear about it) I highly recommend you visit the Cholesterol-And-Health website.

February 16, 2010 - Posted by | Fat Loss, Nutrition, Strength Training | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

